The Faculty of Social Sciences has a total of 17 departments that offer both courses and study programmes and conduct research, and eight research institutes, focused primarily on research. The classes are most often in Swedish, but several departments offer courses in English.

Department of Computer and Systems Sciences, including:
      - eGovlab
      - Mobile Life Center
      - Spider Center
Department of Child and Youth Studies, including:
      - Centre for the Studies of Children's Culture
Department of Criminology
Department of Economic History
Department of Economics
Department of Education, including:
      - CeUL (Swedish web)
Department of Human Geography
Department of Political Science
Department of Psychology
Department of Social Anthropology
Department of Social Work
Department of Sociology
Department of Special Education
Department of Statistics
Stockholm Business School

Research institutes
Aging Research Center (ARC)
Centre for Health Equity Studies (CHESS)
Institute for International Economic Studies (IIES)
Stockholm Center for Organizational Research (SCORE)
Stress Research Institute
Swedish Institute for Social Research (SOFI)
The Centre for Social Research on Alcohol and Drugs (SoRAD)